The Beginning…

 

post 1

It’s difficult to know where to start the first post .

I guess at point of diagnosis would be a good place to start.  The thing is the problems (not that we thought they were problems at the time) came into our live’s way before September.

We now know that Arlo’s symptoms started whilst we were on holiday for most of August. We weren’t to know that there were any signs until much later. 

We were away for 3 weeks travelling through France, Switzerland & Spain to drive to Ibiza. Arlo was never a big water drinker.  In fact he wasn’t a massive drinker full stop so I remember saying to Arlo “now make sure you drink plenty of water to hydrate as it’s going to be really hot and we will be in the camper for long periods of times so you need to drink lots.” 

So he drank, he drank and he drank sometimes 2 litres a day. 

We were in hot countries stuck in the camper for long periods.  I was pleased he had listened to me and was drinking loads. 

He kept wetting himself/wanting to go the toilet all the time, “Well of course he was the amount he was drinking”  I said to myself. 

He was sleeping during the day but he had been in the sea all day snorkelling,  playing with his friends, going to bed late; of course he was going to be shattered. 

He didn’t eat much during the holiday but then none of us did “you don’t feel that hungry in the sun” is what we kept saying to each other. 

He was looking slender and lean  but we just assumed he was growing and turning into his  daddy who was 6ft tall and slender.  Writing this now I am filled with guilt and kick myself that I didn’t notice the signs when we were on holiday on even when we got back when the symptoms continued.

We got back around the August bank holiday Arlo continued to drink anything he could get hold of and wet himself during the day at night time, it was getting exhausting. 

We were two days from heading back to school after our amazing summer holidays. I was keen to get it sorted so booked a doctors appointment, it crossed my mind that he may have a urine infection.

We never made it to the doctors. The next day, Wednesday 2nd Sept 2015, Arlo started to fall asleep during the day, had no energy and was eating everything in his sight.  He was at a friends whilst I was at work.  My friend mentioned he wasn’t himself that day.  That evening when I got home I tested his wee with some urine strips I had bought earlier that day.  His sugar levels were off the scale, wondering if I should wait until morning to see the Gp or head to hospital, my mummy gut instinct kicked in and I scooped him up and took him down to our local A&E. 

 

post 2

My husband was working nights and I didn’t think it was anything to worry about I so told him to stay put. We got to the hospital, checked in and waited less than 5 Min’s before we were seen.  This point becomes a bit of a blur.  I remember Arlo being tested, being told his blood glucose level was 36mmol, his ketones were dangerously high.  I remember a nurse saying that he probably would not have made it to tomorrow and a coma would have been likely had I not bought him in.  I remember lots of doctors and someone mentioning type 1 diabetes.  In a daze I rang my husband and told him to get to the hopsital as soon as possible.  He had already left, I guess his daddy gut instinct had kicked in as well. 

A couple of blood tests later and a rather traumatic cannula insertion we were admitted up to the ward  at approx 1am.  He needed an insulin injection, later I would find out that he would need insulin injections 4 times a day for the rest of his life, I would be told that my son aged 5 3/4 had developed type 1 diabetes.

This was the night our life’s changed forever.

Leave a Reply

