Set change or Sewing?

 

Until today set changes for the insulin pump would be up there as one of the most stressful activities of my week. That is until I finally got round to sewing the badges on Arlo’s beaver jumper. It has been a task that I have put off.  Each week we would  get to Monday Beavers club and each Monday at five pm I would look at Arlo’s badge free Beaver jumper, pull a face, mumble a swear word and send a memo to myself to sew them on for next week. Here we are at Sunday and his jumper is still badge free! Off to mums I grabbed the badges and the jumper and thought how hard it can be I can sew them in the car or at my mums…..

Beaver Uniform v5

HOW WRONG WAS I!!!!

Firstly said badges need to be placed and sewn in a certain place on the jumper. I clearly can’t sew as three hours later and a lot of swear words mumbled I had rather badly managed to sew on only four badges! Those three hours included me sewing the arms together and then having to unpick it, and then putting the badges on the wrong arm! Then there is the fiddly tiny badges you need to sew on. At one point I could be heard saying to Arlo “Is Beavers something you really want to do?” Doing a quick google of the amount of badges that one can actually collect I started to hyperventilate at my future of sewing badges. I did ring my friend to ask if there was some secret Beaver badge tip that we were not privy to being the newbies. Sadly she replied no it’s sew or nothing!

Medtronic-Mio-Infusion-set-1I can do finger prick tests on Arlo, changes his cannulas and fix his pump. I have worked in some stressful and difficult times as a nurse and in all these situations have remained calm. So why is the task of Sewing badges onto a jumper in a neat not wonky but correct way starting to feel more stressful than insulin pump set changes and finger prick testing in the dark at 2am! It was also taken a lot longer.

All done and feeling relived and proud that I had completed task  all without asking Mum to do it. I wasn’t expecting that the next day when Arlo all dressed and ready to go to Beavers that Chris would turn around and say “Would you be offended if I took some of them off and asked my mum to sew them!!”

“No! Of course not.” I Said through gritted teeth.

Until they invent iron On Beaver Badges I’m leaving all beaver Badge duties to the experts i.e. our mums!

 

 

 


 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Set change or Sewing?

  1. Sam K

    I think you just need practice – you’ll be fine!! I’ve a badger promise badge for you to practice on?? No sleeves to sew together though as they all go on a sash 😆 Xx
    P.S Chris is one brave man!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

